English | Spanish | Dutch

WTC2019 Napoli makes it into the mainstream news! With....tunnel boring on the moon!

You don't see very often WTC making into mainstream news. World tunnelling congress is more like a meetup for the nerds of the tunnelling world. But WTC at Napoli seems to be an exception.

Apparently AFP has serviced Mr Rostami's presentation regarding moon tunnelling and some news sites have picked that up.

Here you go:

https://phys.org/news/2019-05-lunar-tunnel-moon-colonies.html

• Carlos Kirschner
    By Carlos Kirschner

Journalists are not interested in all that good real work but only in fantasy

• Ravnish Sharma
    By Ravnish Sharma
  • Coert Klomp
    By Coert Klomp

I like the headline for the article `Lunar tunnel engineers excited by boring Moon colonies'

I am just an ordinary tunnel engineer. I wanna be a "Lunar tunnel engineer" too!

• Marcelo D. Rodriguez
    By Marcelo D. Rodriguez

"Lunar tunnel engineer" :-) Is there a school for that?

• Alan Limbach
    By Alan Limbach

Great. Such news create a wider interest in the public for tunnelling. It means more tunnels and more work for us!

• Santiago Morales
    By Santiago Morales

pure snakeoil if you ask me!

• Arie van den Broek
    By Arie van den Broek

Come on guys! I cannot believe that you guys are so negative about this news.

I find this news and also Mr Jamal Rostami's presentation at WTC2019 (on which the article is based) very refreshing and visionary!

The contents of the article is neither snake oil nor an unattainable fantasy.  It is VISION!

I shall spell it for you:

V-I-S-I-O-N!  

You know, if the human kind always thought the way your comments make me feel you guys think, we would never make it out of the caves! We would still be living in caves!

We need to have vision. And we need visionaries even if they look a bit odd.

Look at today's world. It is the vision (or if you like "fantasy") of free minds like Elon Musk which makes things progress, move forward.